Polling Stations General Information

The Polling Stations form part of the Electoral Administration, together with the Electoral Boards.

The Polling Station is responsible for presiding over the election, supervising the voting process, and counting and tallying the votes.

The Polling Station consists of a Returning Officer and two members.

The appointment of the members of the Polling Station is the responsibility of each City Council, and they are chosen by the Municipal Plenary through a public draw, using any random procedure or mechanism. There is no objection to the draw being carried out before the Local Government Commission if the City Council Plenary has delegated this power to it, provided that it is carried out in a public meeting.

The draw will take place among all the members of the Section who are under 70 years of age and able to read and write, with the possibility of resigning within seven days at the age of 65. Persons who reach the age of majority between the drawing up of the electoral roll and the vote shall be excluded.

The Returning Officer must have a Baccalaureate diploma or secondary vocational certificate or, alternatively, a school leaving certificate or equivalent.

Two substitutes shall be appointed for each member of the polling station (two for each of the members of the polling station, and two alternates for the Returning Officer of the Polling Station).

For the elections of 9 June, the draws will take place between 11 and 15 May.

The persons nominated by the Municipal Plenary will be notified of their election to the Polling Station during the three days following the draw, i.e. between 11 April and 18 May, although if this takes place later, the delay will not invalidate the appointment.

An Instruction Manual for Polling Station members will be provided with the notification.

The appointment of a person as a member of the Polling Station for one electoral process does not imply continuity for the next electoral process, although there is nothing to prevent that person from being re-elected by lot in successive electoral processes.